Word by the Dean

The Faculty of Science was founded by Muni University Council in 2018 with four departments including, the Department of Physics; Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics.

The aim of the Faculty is to train highly motivated scientists who are equipped with specialized research and innovation competencies to solve emerging community problems.

This is achievable through imparting into the students an in-depth knowledge of the core scientific disciplines of Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics through theFaculty-led and supervised research, innovation projects and community outreach activities.

The Faculty teaches Bachelor of Science Program including the Science and Mathematics components of the Bachelor of Science with Education and Bachelor of Education (Primary) Programs. New postgraduate, undergraduate and diploma programs are being developed and will be rolled out once accredited by National Council of Higher Education.

Similarly, the Higher Education Certificate (HEC) program in Biological and Physical Sciences was accredited by the National Council of Higher Education and is being rolled out to give opportunity to the students who fail to raise the two principal passes required for a direct university admission to pursue any program of their choice at the University after obtaining the requisite credits in the HEC exams.

The Faculty brings a lens of teaching sciences, research, innovation and community engagement in all its programs. This model of learning fosters curiosity among academic staff and students and promotes creative problem-solving skills.

We have well-trained academic staff and technical staff in the various fields of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and Mathematics. Thirty percent of theacademic staff have PhDs and a good number are already pursuing their PhD studies in reputable Universities around the globe.

Staff and students of the Faculty are engaged in undertaking researches in the natural and applied science disciplines including, Water quality, Natural Products, Medicinal plants, Environmental Chemistry, Entomology, Botany, Zoology, Immunology, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Paleoecology, Renewable energy, Space Science, Astronomy, Pure and Applied Mathematics. Our research findings are published in high impact journals which can as well be accessed through the Muni University Institution Repository.

Our research and innovations aim at improving the livelihood of the community and the state of the environment from the threats of degradation, diseases, climate change, energy and food crisis and bridge gap in scientific knowledge and technological advancement.

The Faculty is also cognizant of the role of collaboration in undertaking high impact research. For example, the Department of Biology is in collaboration with other partners from Bucknell University in undertaking research project titled “Tolerance and resistance responses of African bats to viral antigens: Immunological tradeoffs in zoonotic reservoir hosts” to provide key insights into how to mitigate the immune response to disease causing organisms originating from wildlife in humans, for better treatment options.

Thank you for your interest in our work.

Associate Professor Morgan Andama
Dean, Faculty of Science
P.O.Box 725, Arua - Uganda
Tel: +256 476 420314/Fax: 256 476 20316
Mob. Tel: +256774 068462
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Faculty Staff

Mungufeni Patrick

Senior Lecturer and Acting Head of Physics Department.

Senyange Bob

Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics.

Driwale Baker Raymond

Laboratory Technician.

Muhwezi Godfrey

Assistant Lecturer - Chemistry.

Lubanga Nasifu

Laboratory Technician in the Department of Biology.

Mugyenyi Athananthius

Laboratory Technician of Physics

Amagu Paulino

Assistant Lecturer in the department of Chemistry.

Emong Paul

Assistant Lecturer at the department of mathematics.

Oryema Bosco

Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Physics.

Anguyo Dennis Foe

Laboratory Technician in the Department of Chemistry.

Nasejje Stella

Assistant lecturer in the department of Physics.

Oloya Benson

Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry.

Arop Martin

Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics.

Mwebesa Edson

Assistant Lecturer in the department of Mathematics.

Andama Morgan

Senior Lecturer in Department of Biology.